Jago, Kalynuk Up for the Hobey Baker Award

16.01.2019 13:54
By: Branden Crowe

NCAA Hockey's Top Award

Brandon, MB (CKLQ) - A trio of home grown Manitobans find themselves on the ballot for the top award in NCAA College Hockey. 

Brandon's Tanner Jago and Virden's Wyatt Kalynuk have both been nominated for the 2019 Hobey Baker Award. 

The award is given to the NCAA player who best "exhibits strength of character both on and off the ice" and "contributes to the integrity of the team and displays outstanding skills in all phases of the game."

Jago, who is in his senior year at Bentley University was named the Team Captain this off-season. In 20 games, the former Winkler Flyer has five goals and eleven assists for 16 points. 

Meanwhile, Kalynuk a former Virden Oil Capital defenseman is in his Junior year at Wisconsin University. The Philadelphia Flyers draft pick has 16 points in 20 games for the Badgers. 

Ste.Alphonse native Colt Conrad of the Western Michigan Broncos is the also on the list. 

Fans can vote for both Jago and Kalynuk by CLICKING HERE